• Selim's Notes
  • Posts
  • 🗓️January 2024: Week 4 - Review & Updatesđź“ť

🗓️January 2024: Week 4 - Review & Updates📝

Business, Life, School, Health&Fitness, Productivity&Personal Development

Hey friend!

I hope you are doing well!

As we close the chapter in January, I wanted to share with you some exciting updates and plans from the last day of the month.

We are coming closer to the days when people forget about their New Year's resolutions and go back to their routines from the past year. What about you?

I’m feeling motivated, and this time, I do not have an intent to give up my dreams.

Last Week, I attended the five-day online Hey Creator Summit and Tony Robbin’s Time to Rise Summit on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. You can check the details and see the recordings from the links.

Both of them offer more programs, Hey Creator Community and the Tony Robbins The Total Transformation program and Unleash the Power Within Summit in March. I really want to attend them, but as I already filled up my online community/course limit for this year, I’m still thinking…

If you want to get inspired, you can join these programs or just reply to this e-mail, and I can recommend courses and communities.

Books & Reading

Before diving into the books I have read this month, I’d like to share one of my favorite newsletters about books and reading: Alex and Books Newsletter.


Alex is one of the best content creators regarding books and reading; he has a fantastic newsletter and community. He also just started his course, The Art of Reading; you can find his newsletter and course here;

Sponsored
Alex & Books NewsletterBecome smarter, happier, and wiser with 5-minute book summaries. Join 40,000+ readers today!

Books I have read and listened to this month;

How to Win Friends & Influence People, Dale Carnegie

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

In "How to Win Friends & Influence People," Dale Carnegie masterfully navigates the complex world of social dynamics. He highlights the transformative power of empathy, showing how a genuine interest in others, coupled with appreciation, can work wonders in our interactions. The book is a treasure trove of insights, but a few stand out:

Firstly, Carnegie emphasizes the 'Power of Appreciation'. He suggests that when we sincerely appreciate others, it not only strengthens our relationships but also has a positive influence, creating an environment of mutual respect and understanding.

Another significant takeaway is the importance of 'Remembering Names and Details'. Carnegie points out that remembering a person's name and taking an interest in their passions can be key to forming lasting and meaningful connections. It's a simple, yet often overlooked, aspect of building rapport.

Lastly, he advises against 'Criticism and Complaints'. Instead of resorting to criticism, which often breeds resentment, Carnegie advocates for a path of encouragement and understanding. By focusing on these positive interactions, we foster an atmosphere where constructive feedback and growth can thrive.

I also enjoyed a few listens on Audible:

Total Money Makeover, Dave Ramsey;

  • Ramsey's approach reshapes financial habits and mindsets, offering a robust plan for achieving financial freedom.

  • Hardy delivers an honest glimpse into the entrepreneurial journey, filled with ups and downs, and provides strategies for success.

The War of Art, Steven Pressfield

  • Pressfield tackles the resistance faced in creative processes, providing insights on overcoming barriers to unleash creativity.

And on Blinkist, I explored book summaries:

Emotional Intelligence Daniel Goleman

  • Goleman explores the power of emotional intelligence in personal and professional success, beyond just IQ.

Managing Oneself Peter F. Drucker

  • This book is a guide to self-management and understanding one's strengths and how to leverage them effectively.

High-Performance Habits, Brendon Burchard

  • Burchard outlines habits that can catapult individuals into high performance, both personally and professionally.

Health and Fitness

On the health and fitness front, I have been progressing quite well. I’m getting back to my routine of walking every day, running, and going to the gym 2-3 times a week. Here is my progress chart on Strava; I would be glad to connect if you are using it as well!

Business

In my previous e-mails, I mentioned that I have started my online newsletter writing business. I’m focusing on writing educational e-mail newsletters (like free 5-day e-mail courses on …) . I have completed my first project this month, if you want to have a look and and check you can visit this link; https://stressizuretkenlik.com/ 

It’s in Turkish, as my client provides training on Getting Things Done and stress-free productivity. I’ll be publishing my own e-mail courses in English and Turkish next week and share with you here, stay tuned!

Productivity&Personal Development

I was on the Ship30and30 challenge and published more than 20 short essays on different topics, including some productivity and personal development-focused ones.

If you're interested in reading my atomic essays, you can find them on my newsletter and my Typeshare blog. And if you'd like to join us in the next cohort, you can find more information about Ship30for30 here.

In February, I’ll be sharing more content in different formats, including Youtube videos, which I was not able to focus on because of competing priorities of life, work, and university :)

Thanks a lot for reading and your time!

I’d be glad to hear if you have any questions, comments, or suggestions!

Have a happy and healthy month and year ahead!